top of page

Winged Scapulae? This exercise is a Blast!

The bigger the ball, the less challenging this is.I tie a shoe string around netting at the top of the ball to capture it inside the net swing, making it kind of like a wrecking ball.I have my client cross her legs while sitting on top of the ball.I verbally cue her to pull herself close to the rope.I often spot the client the way I am doing in this picture to make sure she is safe.I recommend you put the mat down for this one.I also hang the ball as low as I can and still have her feet clear the floor.Eventually just about everyone falls off.I try to make sure she goes down slowly.Note how I am pulling back on the ball a little to make it easier for her to stay on the ball.I can also push the client out further forward so my client is constantly having to pull with her arms to stay on top of the ball.

When my client is stronger I like to have her mount the ball by stepping first up on a bench on one side of the room and then getting on the ball.From here, she swings a pre-determined number of times across the room to be able to crash at the right time into a pile of bean bags on the other side of the room.Most clients would do this all day if I let them.The spotting just gets harder when she is swinging that far.I rarely just let my clients go all by his or her self.

I also have a disc swing that I do the same type of exercise with. Some kids think the wrecking ball is easier, and some think the disc swing is easier.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page