top of page

Here's a Handy Hand Strengthening Exercise

I start with the child holding onto a hoop and work up to the child holding a rope as soon as I think the child is capable. I personally find it easier to maneuver the hallways pulling a child with a rope versus the hoop. The rope is a much less stable support to hold onto…so it is more challenging for the child. I use a 1” thickness soft rope I got from a hardware store. I had the rope cut to about 16’ long. I knot the end of the ropes to make it a little easier to grip. Then I have the child hold the 2 ends of the rope. I hold the middle or the other end of the ropes according to how much obstacle avoiding I have to do while pulling. When I am emphasizing hand strength, I pull the client in spurts if she can handle it. Sometimes I pull so hard and strong that the child pulls up passed me. This always adds some humor as I playfully fuss at them for passing me by and to please let me catch up.

For an even greater challenge, I have been known to have a sibling ride a 2nd scooterboard and hold onto my clients heels. This of course adds significantly to the resistance/weight …but also to the laughter.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page