top of page

Spastic Hamstring are Weak Hamstring. Ready, Aim Strengthen!

This is the classic heel slide with a scooterboard flare. I have so many of my clients with diplegic cerebral palsy who are weak in their hamstrings or have spasticity in their hamstrings. I usually have to find ways to minimize the resistance from the heel sliding along the yoga mat to help give the client success. Here I have my model laying on a mat with his feet on the scooterboard. If I was worried about the height differential, I could fold up my exercise mat to double thickness (2 ply).Then the scooterboard and the surface my model was on would be more level. Here I allow my client to pull in the scooterboard with 2 feet .I could do the same with 1 foot.If I want to increase the resistance I could be where the scooterboard rolls on carpet as opposed to smooth flooring. I could also add weights to the scooterboard.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page