top of page

Sit-Ups With Arms Straight and Legs Straight and Stabilized

Once clients are strong enough to perform the bench sit up, I start trying sit ups on the floor. I always stabilize the legs at this level. Later when a child is ready for a much greater challenge, I don't stabilize the legs. Sometimes I put a 10 inch (25 cm) bench down over the legs so she can still interact with a toy like a puzzle. But usually I just try to get the client to perform 10 repetitions to be able to get a reward afterward. I usually don’t have clients do crunches. I have the child sit totally up. In pediatrics, I think a full sit up is just simpler for understanding and performance. I may need to coach clients in how to use their arms to help get the momentum to sit up.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page