top of page

Lateral Trunk Righting with the Child Sitting on Your Lap

Granted this child is a little big and a little too highly skilled for this exercise. I still use it with a child who is this size who is more severely impaired. I use this exercise a great deal with smaller children who are easier to pick up and not so heavy on my knees. I always look for the elongation on the weight bearing side in the child in this activity. I also want the head to stay over the pelvis. I always want to see that C-curve in the trunk. The trick here for the therapist is in your knees and ankles. I go up on the tiptoe of one foot which raises one knee relative to the other to cause the weight shift for the client. This client is strong with this exercise so I can hold her at the bottom of her trunk or the top of her pelvis. The lower the support you provide, the greater the challenge for the client. For a more challenged client, I provide higher support. With the weaker child, I support at the upper trunk to help facilitate leaning toward the uphill side and/or elongation of the weight bearing side. I have also been known to use my finger nail up the edge of the spine paraspinally to facilitate lateral flexion on the shortened side. Use just enough pressure to facilitate muscle activity.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page