top of page

Abdominals: Small Bench Sit ups with Arms Straight

I often have to help a child in the initial parts of this range, and then she can do it independently. I always stabilize the legs so the hip flexors can help. The most popular ways I play this are: 1) putting large or small cars down a ramp or tunnel, 2) the TOMY gearation game, 3) the Discovery Toy Marble game, or 4) those wonderful Melissa and Doug puzzles that make sounds when you put the piece in. I learned quickly the value of games with pieces….and a finite number of pieces. The child can see the puzzle getting finished and realize that these sit ups will not go on forever. I like games with pieces that don’t take too long to play with so there is not too much time between reps. I often need to verbally cue a child to tuck her chin to start or to use her arms to get momentum to come up. If this exercise is easy for the child, I choose a different sit up exercise. Note: I usually have to lower the child down the bench between sit ups and hand her the next toy piece. My clients usually don’t have the control to lay down with control at this level of exercise. A kid can really whack her head going down so help her if she needs it.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page