top of page

Wheelbarrow Push-ups for Chest Strengthening

This is a nice exercise to get unilateral upper extremity weight bearing with trunk rotation.Other than provide trunk support, to make this easier, I may put the toy that is being picked up on a 4” or similar bench to decrease the effect of gravity.I frequently have to support the shoulder and elbow of the weight bearing arm for weaker children.The further out from the child I put the object to be picked up, the more challenging this activity is.

For a smaller child, I sit on the floor long sitting with my legs parallel to a bench.The child sits sideways on my outstretched legs like a bench. I put the toy on the floor behind the child to one side.Similar to this picture, the child reaches to the side and behind him for a toy I carefully place. Again I may decrease the difficulty by putting a small bench like my 4” (10 cm) bench down to rest the toy on.I usually have a bench in front of the child to turn around and sit up to, similar to this picture series.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page