top of page

Hip Flexion Strengthening Prone? Am I Crazy?

There just wasn’t really a good angle for this exercise. So, forgive me as I describe it. The child lies prone and laterally flexes to one side. He flexes his hip and touches his elbow to his knee on the same side. Then he laterally flexes the other direction with unilateral hip flexion to touch the other elbow to his knee. In order to laterally flex prone like this, I get a great deal of back extension activation, as well as lateral flexion and hip flexion. I really like this exercise. It’s terrific for the clients with diplegia and hemiplegia but also great for the really common child with core and proximal hip weakness.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page