top of page

Wheelbarrow Sit ups from Sitting on a Ball

I always try to make activities more dynamic. A ball really helps meet that goal. I remember that a pole can statically weight bear. Muscles are more active in dynamic weight bearing. I like using a ball to add more movement in the weight bearing. The further out from the ball I put the object to be picked up the more challenging this activity is. I also make sure I put the toy far enough behind the child to insure rotation and leaning posteriorly beyond their lateral midline to pick up the object. Note how I am blocking across the pelvis to ensure rotation of the trunk. I usually have to help the child get weight bearing on the near arm and encourage reaching across midline to pick up the toy with the opposite hand.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page