top of page

Hip Hip Hurray: New Variations on a Classic Hip Extension Exercise

Sometimes I have to block the knees with my chest and help the client lift her hips with my hands on her hips/lower back. I have some lower functioning clients that can only lift their hips in this position if I pretend to start to change their diaper. Other clients like to play the game where the bridge comes up to allow the ball or the car to roll under their hips. The bigger the ball or the car, the harder this is. For some clients I just have them try to clear the floor momentarily and some I ask them to hold their hips up for 10 seconds. I have a client now who loves to do bridges on the trampoline. He is nonverbal but he understands, if I help him bridge until we count to 10 then I will stand up and bounce him while he lays on his back on the trampoline. He LOVES this and will play the game repeatedly. I document how much assistance the child required, how extended a position is reached and the duration the position was held.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page