top of page

Who said Strengthening Abdominals had to be BORING?

Kids love this exercise.It takes no equipment and is easy for the family to follow through at home. I like this exercise too, so I always do it along with the child.I think the more, the merrier so I get siblings and parents in on the fun if they are willing.If the child is having a hard time, this is actually a little easier if the child is wearing pants.I have the child hold on to her pants close to the knees and then flip down and up.Sometimes it is still too hard, so I may put a pillow under her head or a inclined wedge behind her back, higher under her head.The more of her body that gets supported by the wedge, the easier this trick is.If she needs more help, I may also just reach over and help the child a little with the momentum to help her get up.If the child needs a harder challenge, then I have the child let go of her legs and keep arms straight or arms crossed.I often have to coach the child about the power of momentum.To be the most successful at this move, the child needs to rock back and up again all in one motion.If I think the child can handle the challenge, I may have her cross her arms or flip all the way back until her hips are off the ground.That really amps the momentum.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page