top of page

Fight Flat Feet! Strengthen Inversion


Inversion with Manual Assistance/Resistance in Supine

The only down side to this exercise is my client cannot see the movement from flat supine. So, sometimes I prop the child up on a pillow or allow the child to sit up leaning back on his arms to be able to watch the movement. Or if I think the child has good body awareness, I may simply take his foot through the motion and say, “It feels like this…” for a couple of repetitions. If a child can get any inversion, it is usually from the extreme everted position back toward midline. Often I can resist from the everted position to neutral and then have to assist from neutral to the inverted position. In any case, I give as much resistance as a child can take and as little assistance as possible. Sometimes I make a competition. I tell the child he has 10 seconds to get to “feet in” position. I make a good show of resisting and USUALLY lose. I don’t let the child win every time or the fun is gone.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page