top of page

Simple ways to strengthen Eversion

Supine Eversion with Manual Assistance and/or Resistance

Usually I position myself sitting below my client’s feet. I sit facing the child on the floor with my legs in a relatively wider ring position so that when the child everts his feet then he touches my feet that are conveniently there as a target. For the sake of this picture, I simply moved to the side to allow the activity to be photographed more easily. The only down side of this exercise is my client cannot see the movement of his feet from flat supine. So, sometimes I prop the child up on a pillow or allow the child to sit up leaning back on his arms to be able to watch the movement. Or if I think the child has good body awareness, I may simply take his foot through the motion and say, “It feels like this…” for a couple of repetitions. If a child can get any eversion, it is usually from the extreme inverted position back toward midline.Often I can resist from the inverted position to neutral and then have to assist from neutral to the everted position. Watch for substitution with hip external rotators.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page